Chronically Happy – A Year in the Life of a Spoonie whilst trying to stay positive… March…

March…Week 9 – pampering
This has been the month for pampering.  I started out finding a new reiki and reflexology therapist as mine has moved house, but I wanted one who came to me since driving is much tougher with the hand controls.  I found the perfect one, she even performed my treatments with me lazing on my sofa with my feet up on a foot stool!  So no clambering onto a therapy table!
Next I had my hair done.  My usual hairdresser has gone on maternity leave and the hairdressers salon is up three steps, not ideal in this hip brace, so again I needed a new person.  So a mobile hairdresser seemed perfect!  He came and I felt truly pampered, perfect, plus my hair is easy to style too, just the ticket for iffy elbows, shoulders and hands.
Having had all this I fancied one more treat so I booked a nail technician to call.  I’ve never had my nails done before, it was blissful, and now I feel good too.
Week 10 – spreading my wings
Next month I’m looking for a few more things too.  I love meditation and practice guided meditations usually daily, but I’d love to go to a group meditation.  I’ve now found one in my nearby town where I can go by train and chill out for lunch and a drink afterwards with a friend, perfect!  I’d also like to try chair yoga, so I’m on the search…
Add my new found hobby, wheelchair golf and my time will be filled with happy things!  I’ve found clubs on eBay, so we’ll be off playing as soon as the weather is fine and the course is dry.  I can’t wait!
Hobbies and a few hours out combined sounds ideal!  Yes there will be times I’m just not well enough, but I can enjoy going when I can.

Week 11 – my spirituality
I’m pagan, but until now I’ve practiced solitary.  But recently I’ve been on the search of things to join.  A moot sounded ideal but I’m struggling to find one that is wheelchair accessible sadly.
But not to be stopped I started an online moot to join with fellow pagans around the world, hopefully it’ll take off and we can share our experiences together.
I also enjoyed a psychic supper this month, a regular event at a nearby town where we meet, have dinner and a reading.  Mine was so accurate and positive, and I received much helpful advice.  My dinner companions enjoyed it too, so we plan to visit again, another regular get together I can look forward too…

Week 12 – making my home cozier
This will kill two birds as firstly I’ll feel happier and two, my home will be more appealing to buyers.
So my closest friend rearranged my bedroom and later my chill out room too!  I love them both!  Now I can snuggle up in bed and watch tv with fairy lights twinkling softly, perfect for those far too often nights I spend battling insomnia.
My chill out room was unsuitable for my limited mobility so we moved the hammock I had in there into the garden and brought my comfy chairs in there instead.  Again I’ve used fairy lights and a salt lamp, so I can use it as a meditation space.  Alternatively I can turn in the full lights and just read in there when I want a change of space.  Perfect!
I spend a lot of time at home so it’s important to be able to feel happy and relaxed in my spaces.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.